Senator Chris Coons to Serve as ITIF Honorary Co-Chair

November 5, 2015

WASHINGTON—The Information Technology and Innovation Foundation (ITIF) today announced that U.S. Senator Chris Coons (D-DE) will serve as an ITIF honorary co-chair alongside U.S. Senator Orrin Hatch (R-UT) and U.S. Representatives Anna Eshoo (D-CA) and Darrell Issa (R-CA). Senator Coons takes over a position held most recently by U.S. Senator Mark Warner (D-VA).

“ITIF is able to play an important role in developing policy because they work on creative solutions to break through partisan gridlock,” said Senator Coons. “We can’t move our country forward unless we work together, and that’s why I’m honored to serve as a co-chair of ITIF with Senator Hatch, Representative Eshoo, and Representative Issa.”

Senator Hatch said, “Senator Coons is a trusted partner in advancing legislation critical to the continued success of our high-tech economy. For years, we have worked together on initiatives ranging from streamlining our nation’s high-skilled immigration system to creating a federal standard for protecting trade secrets. I congratulate Senator Coons on becoming ITIF’s newest honorary co-chair.”

ITIF President Robert D. Atkinson said, “We are honored to have Senator Coons serve as ITIF honorary co-chair. He is a respected leader in efforts to boost U.S. competitiveness and spur innovation and has a well-earned reputation as a pragmatic, solutions-oriented legislator. We look forward to working closely with him on policy solutions to drive innovation, productivity, and competitiveness.”

Atkinson also praised Senator Warner, who just completed a term of service as the outgoing honorary co-chair. “Senator Warner has been a valuable counselor to ITIF for the past eight years. He continues to be a leader on innovation economy issues, and we look forward to continuing to work with him,” said Atkinson.