Congressman Artur Davis and Congressman Jon Porter to Serve as Honorary Co-Chairs

June 26, 2008

WASHINGTON, D.C. – ITIF is proud to announce that Congressman Artur Davis (D-AL) and Congressman Jon Porter (R-NE) have agreed to be honorary co-chairs of the Information Technology and Innovation Foundation.

Representative Artur Davis is in his third term in Congress, representing Alabama’s 7th Congressional District. Congressman Davis serves on the House Ways and Means Committee and the House Judiciary Committee. Recognized by the Washington Post, the National Journal and CNN as one of the future leaders to watch in Washington, Congressman Davis has been tapped by his peers for several important assignments. He is the co-chair of the centrist New Democrat Caucus, a group that emphasizes education and technological competitiveness. Congressman Davis also serves as a member of the House Majority Leader’s Advisory Group and as a member of the Steering and Policy Committee, which approves committee assignments and rules changes for the Democratic Caucus.

Representative Jon Porter is in his third term as a member of the United States House of Representatives representing the 3rd Congressional district of Nevada. Congressman Porter serves on the House Ways and Means Committee and the House Budget Committee. During the 108th Congress, Congressman Porter served on the House Education and the Workforce Committee and the House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee. In the 109th Congress, Congressman Porter also secured a seat on the House Government Reform Committee, and became Chairman of the Federal Workforce and Agency Organization Subcommittee.

Cal Dooley, co-chair of ITIF and president of the Grocery Manufacturers Association / Food Products Association, praised Congressmen Davis and Porter, stating, “ITIF is looking forward to working with Congressman Davis and Porter to ensure that ITIF continues to help advance pro-innovation public policies.” Nancy Johnson, co-chair of ITIF, and senior public policy advisor at Baker Donelson commented, “With their significant background in and interest in technology and innovation policy issues, we are thrilled that Representatives Davis and Porter will be serving as honorary ITIF co-chairs.”


Through its research, policies proposals, and commentary, the Information Technology and Innovation Foundation (ITIF) is working to advance and support public policies that boost innovation, e-transformation and productivity. For additional information, visit ITIF at or contact Dr. Robert Atkinson at (202) 449-1351 or


Contact: Samantha Greene
Phone: (202) 626 5744