ITIF Search

Securing Our Future: A Framework for Critical Technology Assessment

Securing Our Future: A Framework for Critical Technology Assessment
Tuesday, October 24, 202308:00 AM to 1:30 PM EST
National Academy of Sciences2101 Constitution Ave, NWWashington DC

Event Summary

The CHIPS and Science Act (US Congress 2022) introduced unprecedented legislation charging the National Science Foundation’s (NSF) Technology Innovation and Partnerships (TIP) Directorate to work in consultation with the interagency working group in identifying and evaluating societal, national, and geostrategic challenges facing the United States and investments in key technologies that could help address those challenges. One year ago, NSF TIP funded a pilot National Network for Critical Technology Assessment (NNCTA) to bring together leading scholars from across the nation to begin to build the intellectual foundations, analytic tools, and data needed to respond to this charge.

Please join ITIF, The Hamilton Project at Brookings, and the National Network for Critical Technology Assessment in a press release and showcase event launching the release of the report, Securing America’s Future: A Framework for Critical Technology Assessment.


7:30-8:00 AM: Breakfast

8:00-8:20 AM: Welcome and Introduction

  • Adam Falk, President, Alfred P. Sloan Foundation
  • Robert D. Atkinson, President, Information Technology Innovation Foundation
  • James H. Garrett, Provost and Chief Academic Officer, Carnegie Mellon

8:20-8:40 AM: Opening Remarks

  • Erwin Gianchandani, Assistant Director of the Directorate for Technology, Innovation and Partnerships, National Science Foundation

8:40-9:40 AM: Summary of Report

  • Erica R.H. Fuchs, Director, National Network for Critical Technology
    Assessment; Professor, Engineering and Public Policy, Carnegie Mellon
  • James Evans, Colead, National Network for Critical Technology Assessment; Professor, Department of Sociology, University of Chicago
  • Cassidy Sugimoto, Tom and Marie Patton School Chair and Professor, School of Public Policy, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Erik Brynjolfsson, Jerry Yang and Akiko Yamazaki Professor, Stanford Institute for Human-Centered AI, Stanford University
  • Dashun Wang, Professor of Management & Organizations, Northwestern
  • Christophe Combemale, Assistant Research Professor, Engineering and
    Public Policy, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Rena Conti, Dean’s Research Scholar and Associate Professor of Markets,
    Public Policy, and Law, Boston University
  • Baruch Fischhoff, Howard Heinz University Professor, Engineering and Public Policy, Institute for Politics and Strategy, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Katie Whitefoot, Associate Professor, Engineering and Public Policy,
    Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Elsa Olivetti, Associate Dean of Engineering, Jerry McAfee (1940) Professor in Engineering, Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, MIT

9:40-10:00 AM: Audience Q&A

10:00-10:30 AM: Fireside Chat: The Need for Rapid Critical Technology Assessment

  • Kelvin K. Droegemeier, Former Director, OSTP
  • Moderator: Wendy Edelberg, Director, The Hamilton Project; Senior Fellow, The Brookings Institute

10:30-10:45 AM: BREAK

10:45-11:15 AM: Fireside Chat: Discussion of Report and Looking Ahead

  • John Hennessy, President Emeritus, Stanford University
  • Willie E. May, VP for Research & Economic Development, Morgan State
    University; President-Elect, AAAS
  • Michael McQuade, Former SVP, United Technologies Corporation; Former VP Research, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Moderator: Erica R.H. Fuchs

11:15 AM-12:00 PM: Pilot Year and Looking Ahead: Industry and Union Perspectives

  • Brent Hecht, Director of Applied Science, Microsoft
  • Christopher George, CTO, Corporate Strategy & Ventures Group, Intel
  • Lawrence C. Schuette, Director, Global Research & Innovation, Lockheed
  • Moderator: Robert D. Atkinson

12:00-12:15 PM: BREAK

12:15-1:00 PM: Lunch Discussion: Toward a Community of Practice in Rapid Critical Technology Assessment

  • Sue Helper, Senior Advisor for Industrial Strategy, White House Office of
    Management and Budget; Professor of Economics, Weatherhead School of
    Management, Case Western Reserve University
  • Robert Cook-Deegan, Professor, School for the Future of Innovation in Society, and Consortium for Science, Policy & Outcomes, Arizona State University
  • Jay Crossler, Technical Fellow, MITRE
  • Celia Merzbacher, SRI International
  • Dewey Murdick, Colead, National Network for Critical Technology Assessment; Director, Center for Security and Emerging Technology (CSET), Research Faculty, Edmund A. Walsh School of Foreign Service
  • Moderator: Kaye Husbands Fealing, Dean, Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts, Georgia Institute of Technology

1:00-1:20 PM: Closing Remarks

  • Erica R.H. Fuchs
  • Wendy Edelberg
Back to Top